Total: 404679885
Today: 4176
Yesterday: 25763

Items: 9505
Mobs: 4024
Recipes: 3285
NPCs: 2066
Quests: 570

Final Fantasy XI Discussion BoardDiscussion Boards -> Crafting, Chocobo Digging, and Fishing

how to start crafting

Posted: 2005-10-17 11:35:26
How do you start crafting things? I am new to the game and there seems to be very littel information on how to start crafting.

ps. i would like to go blacksmithing

Posted: 2005-10-30 04:44:28
Basicly crafting is relatively simple. first you need the raw materials and the crystals. Since you wish to start leveling smithing you are probably also a member of the goldsmithing guild. If you are not I suggest you do so toot sweet because the two go hand in hand. The materials you need for the beginning smithing levels can be bought from the goldsmith/smithing guild for anywhere from 9-20 gil per copper ore and relativly cheap prices for any other ores you might need. But if you are like me your too cheap (a.k.a. poor) to shell out al that gil.

Best thing to do is get a lvl one job and go out killing worms for copper and zinc drops. Or you can get some pickaxes and mine in zuruhn mines. Even if you are not from bastok I suggest you stick around just to get synth imagery effect for better skill up rates from the guilds. As for the crystals Fire will be the main one for the smithing and goldsmithing guild so go farm them from gobs, vultures or take a lvl 10 job up to the dunes and party till 14-15 and you'll get a good 2-3 stacks with signet on.

once you have all the materials you need find simple synths not too far above your range (E.g. level 0 smithing look at lvl cap 2-4 synths) good starting synths include but are not limited too 4 copper ores + 1 fire crystal= copper ingot; then 1 fire crystal + 1 copper ingot= copper sheet;